Passwords and Accounts for Library Resources: Library Databases and Journals

What password do I use to access the library databases and journals?

• If you are accessing the library databases or journals from on campus, you will see the sign on screen pictured below. Use your McDaniel username and password (the same one you use to access your email) to sign in. 
  • Users who are accessing the site using an internet connection with a firewall may not be able to access Hoover's databases. 
• If you have any trouble accessing the website, contact Yanhong Wang at ywang@mcdaniel.edu or (410) 857-2741.
  ​If you are accessing the databases or journals from on-campus, you should not see this screen. 
  • Due to licensing restrictions, McDaniel alumni do not have access to database and interlibrary loan services. For questions, please contact Elizabeth Davidson at edavidson@mcdaniel.edu or (410) 857-2278. 
• Some databases may have the option of creating an individual, internal account in order to save lists of search results or selected articles. Because these databases have different account creation methods, please contact the library with any questions.
• You do not need to have database-specific accounts to search library databases (however, several journals such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal do require creation of an individual account; see below for more information) 

In order to access the New York Times (NYT), every user must go through a registration process using their McDaniel email address. Access to the NYT subscription is available to all students, faculty, and staff.

• Register with the NYT using your mcdaniel.edu or connections.mcdaniel.edu email address.
  • You must be on campus to register with the NYT.
  • Once registered, students have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by using the registration link above.
  • A full access walkthrough video is available here.

Additional information and content available via the academic license:

• Archives (9/18/1851 through 12/31/2002) ( 5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per day per user) 
• Augmented Reality/Virtual Reality - found in the Mobile App; NYT stories told through enhanced technology
• Podcasts (including The "Daily" podcast)
• All Multimedia, including video, photography, and VR features.
• Newsletters : Over 80 newsletters such as Well, Climate Forward, In Her Words, and more.
• Live Events - conversations with inspiring personalities like Tony Blair on How Russia’s War Will Change the World: A Virtual Event. Lin-Manuel Miranda and  Shakespeare in the Park: A Times Summer Event,  Teaching 1619 Project: a virtual event for Educators and Librarians and Championing The Truth: a conversation between journalist and librarians on fighting misinformation, remaining balanced, and supporting communities. 
• Up-to-date technology to make NYTimes.com Accessible with features such as closed caption and screen reader interface.
• Internship and Fellowship programs, Including the new NYT Corps program focused on underrepresented student journalist development. 
• Spanish and Mandarin Chinese  translated versions of NYTimes.com.
• Cooking and Wirecutter are not part of the subscription agreement, but access is being provided due to our long-standing subscription status.
• Unlimited access to two learning tools: The New York Times inEducation website and The Learning Network. 

Access The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education can be accessed through the Hoover Library website (hoover.mcdaniel.edu).

1. To access The Chronicle of Higher Education through the Hoover Library website, select the link to the A-Z Database list from the home page.

2. Once the list has opened, select ‘C’ from the options at the top of the list.

3. Select the Chronicle of Higher Education from the shortened list of options. If you are accessing The Chronicle from an off-campus location, you will be asked to provide your McDaniel username and password. You can also bookmark this link for faster access.

Subscribe to Newsletters

You can also subscribe to specific newsletter updates by creating your own account. Example newsletters include Teaching: A newsletter with insight on what works in and around the classroom and  Academe Today: The Chronicle's free daily newsletter.

​4. In order to receive regular newsletters via email from The Chronicle, you will need to create an individual account. Select the ‘Log In’ button at the top right of the page.

5. Beneath the Log In screen, you will see a link that enables you to ‘Create an Account.’

6. This link will take you to a separate page to enter your information. At this point, you are able to subscribe to any/all of the Newsletter email options which The Chronicle provides by checking the desired boxes.

· You will need to confirm your email address before The Chronicle accepts your new login; it will send you an email immediately upon account creation.

Subscribe with Existing Account

If you have an existing login with The Chronicle, you will be able to add or change your Newsletter subscriptions by selecting ‘Newsletters’ from the drop-down menu beneath your username in the upper right hand corner of the page. This will take you to a list of the Newsletters for which you are currently registered, and permit you to add/remove/change your profile preferences.

 ×