Skip to main content

Library Hours

McDaniel ID required for access during library hours.

View entire Academic Year.

COVID-19 Library Access

To see the library's current plan for Fall 2020, please see our page Return to Hoover.

Please note that all updates and changes to the library plan will be tracked on the Return to Hoover page. For the overarching plan for McDaniel College, please visit Fall 2020: Return to the Hill

Faculty: Please see our page on Teaching in the time of COVID-19

Students: please see our page on Learning in the time of COVID-19


TSS -- Transfer Student Seminar: Find Articles

Hoover Library Databases

Hoover Library provides access to many databases. Some of these may be familiar to you and some will likely be new to you. Some databases you may have accessed at your former college library are unavailable through Hoover Library. One example might be "Opposing Viewpoints." However, you can utilize our other databases and find what you need.

If you know the name of a particular database and would like to see if Hoover Library provides access to it, click "A-Z Database List" below or on the library homepage.

If you are unsure of what database to use to find sources for a project, please use the Research Guides that are specific to a subject area. Each guide should have a green side tab that says either "Databases" or "Find Articles." You will see a list of databases especially useful to researchers in that subject area.

Finally, directly below, you will see Research Starter. This service searches in the library catalog and several article databases at one time. It can be a good place to start (hence, the name), but make use of subject databases as well.

Should you need help with any of this, please don't hesitate to contact us!

Research Starter

Research Starter

   

Find scholarly & popular articles, books & ebooks, CDs, DVDs, and more

A-Z Database List

No access to the article's full text? Interlibrary Loan!

If you find an article in one of our databases that is not available in full text format, the databases will direct you to create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request. This will be fairly self-explanatory, but if you have questions you can ask at the Research Help Desk or Circulation. Lisa, our wonderful ILL person, will request that article from another library (across the country!). This is a FREE service!

If you find an article online -- say, through Google Scholar -- and it asks you to pay, DON'T do it. We can get that article for free. Just place an ILL request through the link on the home page.

When your article arrives, you will receive an e-mail with instructions on how to retrieve it.

Questions about ILL? Contact Lisa Russell at ill@mcdaniel.edu or visit her in the Research Lounge.

Unger Contribution

W. Byers Unger and Katherine Leidy Unger Bookplate

These databases are made possible through the generous contribution of W. Byers Unger and Katherine Leidy Unger.

Federal Depository Library Program Facebook Instagram TikTok Twitter YouTube