Skip to main content

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Limited Access

Beginning Monday, March 23, McDaniel College Archives will be CLOSED until further notice. For help with reference inquiries, please contact the College Archivist (via Email or Research Request Form). For more information, see the McDaniel College COVID-19 Information Page.

About the Archives

Special Collections Policies

The following special collections are also maintained by the Archives and Hoover Library, and have individual collection guidelines:

  • The Richwine Collection
    • A collection of books, magazines, photographs, phonographs, posters, memorabilia, and manuscripts of the Beat Generation donated to the College by Professor Emeritus Keith Richwine and his wife Eleanor. Additions and donations to this collection are selected by a committee made up of faculty members from the McDaniel College English Department.
  • The Nora Roberts American Romance Collection
    • A circulating collection available to researchers across the United States via inter-library loan, created through the generous support of the Nora Roberts Foundation. It contains the complete works of Nora Roberts/J. D. Robb, and other select American Romance authors recommended by expert and scholar Dr. Pamela Regis.
  • The McDaniel College Hoover Library Student Art Collection
    • Initiated in 2011, Hoover Library will purchase one piece of artwork each year from a McDaniel College Senior Art Major, and the artwork will be displayed in a public area of the library. This collection includes the artist's statement.

Special collections materials which may fall out of the scope outlined in this policy will be reviewed by the Archivist and/or Library Director on a case-by-case basis.

Other special collections not specifically designated in this policy may have their own individual collection guidelines. Please contact the Archivist with any questions.