Nora Roberts American Romance Collection


The following lists alphabetically each Lifetime Achievement Award-winning author to be featured in the collection. Links direct to either the author's webpage, or another page where you can learn more about that author's works. Pseudonyms are not denoted. Note that some authors do not have a web presence.

Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Three works by authors who have received the annual RWA Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award will also be collected. From the RWA website, this award is “presented to a living author in recognition of significant contributions to the romance genre. To qualify for the award, the recipient’s career in romantic fiction must span a minimum of 15 years. Recipients must in some way continue to promote the romance genre, teach romance in fiction, or publish romantic fiction. In 1994, a new requirement was added that recipients must maintain active RWA membership. Authors are nominated for the award by RWA members and selected by the [RWA] Board of Directors.” See the Mission and Collection Policy for more information on how titles are selected for the collection.

The following list details anticipated authors for the collection. Clicking on an author's name will take you to a Hoover Library catalog search for all works written by that author. We are currently still in the process of acquiring works by many of the authors listed below.

Historical Note: From 1983 through 1989 the award was called the Golden Treasure. In 1990, it was changed to the Lifetime Achievement Award, and then renamed the RWA Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award in 2008.


2018 Suzanne Brockmann
2017 Beverly Jenkins
2016 Robyn Carr
2015 Carole Mortimer
2014 Bertrice Small
2013 Mary Jo Putney
2012 Brenda Jackson
2011 Sharon Sala
2010 Debbie Macomber
2009 Alison Hart (Jennifer Greene)
2008 Vicki Lewis Thompson
2007 Linda Lael Miller
2006 Susan Elizabeth Phillips
2005 Linda Howard
2004 no award given
2003 Heather Graham Pozzessere
2002 Maggie Osborne
2001 Robin Lee Hatcher
2000 Rita Clay Estrada
1999 Rosalyn Alsobrook
1998 Sandra Brown
1997 Nora Roberts
1996 Anne Stuart
1995 Jayne Anne Krentz
1994 Ann Maxwell (Elizabeth Lowell)
1993 no award given
1992 Mary Stewart
1991 Barbara Mertz
1990 Phyllis A. Whitney
1989 Eleanor Burford Hibbert (Victoria Holt)
1988 Kathleen Woodiwiss
1987 Patricia Maxwell (Jennifer Blake)
1986 Roberta Gellis
1985 Virginia Myers
1984 Ethel Bangert (Virginia Mann)
1983 Virginia Nielsen McCall
Banner background: "Vintage Romance Novels" by Stephen Coles, used under CC BY / Modified from original