Hoover Library: Sophomore Interdisciplinary Studies (SIS): Appalachian Music

Music Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 6,000 journals, including full text for more than 5,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which provides access to scholarly journals and popular magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text archival database covering a variety of subjects ranging from music, art, history, political science to economics and philosophy.

African banjo echoes in Appalachia : a study of folk traditions
Call Number: 787.88 C767
Appalachian dulcimer traditions
Call Number: 787.74 S657
Appalachians music rough guide.
Call Number: CD 1087 (Located at Circulation Desk)
Bill Monroe's Live recordings, 1956-1969
Call Number: CD 1410 (Located at Circulation Desk)
Blue Ridge music trails : finding a place in the circle
Call Number: 781.62 F994
Bluegrass
Call Number: CD 1064 (Located at Circulation Desk)
Bluegrass : a history
Call Number: 781.64209 R813
Bluegrass at Newport
Call Number: CD 1411 (Located at Circulation Desk)
Classic mountain songs from Smithsonian Folkways
Call Number: CD 1406 (Located at Circulation Desk)
Harlan County USA songs of the coal miner's struggle.
Call Number: CD 1412 (Located at Circulation Desk)
A hot-bed of musicians : traditional music in the upper New River Valley-Whitetop region
Call Number: 781.642 A546
Jean Ritchie: Ballads from her Appalachian family tradition
Call Number: CD 0821 (Located at Circulation Desk)
Lost highway : the true story of country music
Call Number: 781.64209 E74
Music of coal mining songs from the Appalachian coalfields.
Call Number: CD 1414 (Located at Circulation Desk)
Only a miner; studies in recorded coal-mining songs.
Call Number: 784.68622 G795
Strings of life : conversations with old-time musicians from Virginia and North Carolina
Call Number: 781.62 D684
Trouble in mind the Doc Watson country blues collection, 1964-1998
Call Number: CD 1408 (Located at Circulation Desk)