Hoover Library: *Music: Popular Music

Popular Music

Contemporary Musicians
Call Number: R780.922 C761 v.1-80
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History
Call Number: R 781.66 G816 v.1-6
Rough Guide to Heavy Metal
Call Number: R 781.140973 B655 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of Heavy Metal Music
Call Number: R 781.66 P564
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip-Hop Culture
Call Number: R 782.421649 B994
The Rough Guide to Hip-Hop
Call Number: R 782.421649 S529
Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture
Call Number: R 781.66 C676
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Rock
Call Number: R 784.54 I29
Rock : The Rough Guide
Call Number: R 782.42166 R682
100 Albums that Changed Popular Music : A Reference Guide
Call Number: R 781.64 S644
Encyclopedia of Indie Rock
Call Number: R 781.6603 S653
Techno: The Rough Guide
Call Number: R 781.641554 B268
Women Icons of Popular Music : the Rebels, Rockers, and Renegades
Call Number: R 782.42164 H388 v.1-2
The Rough Guide to Punk
Call Number: R 781.66 S754
Penguin Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Call Number: R 781.6403 P398
Encyclopedia of World Pop Music, 1980-2001
Call Number: R 781.63 J47
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Call Number: R 781.64 E56 v.1-10

NPR Music
"Read interviews with musicians and music reviews. NPR covers the best new songs from rock, pop, folk, jazz, urban, world and classical music."
8Notes
Collection of free sheet music, riffs, lessons, and tools for a wide variety of instruments and from an equally wide variety of styles and composers. Includes chord charts and music theory helps, as well.
Rolling Stone
"The online version of Rolling Stone Magazine: music news, entertainment news, videos, photos, downloads, music reviews, movie reviews, etc."
Billboard
"From the latest music news and music reviews, to Billboard music charts, music articles, videos and more."
Anthony McCann (SoundCloud)
Links to popular world music provided by Anthony McCann, lecturer from the University of Ulster.