Beginning Monday, March 23, Hoover Library will be CLOSED until further notice. Virtual reference services (use the "ASK US" or "CHAT" button) will be available from 1 PM - 9 PM Sunday, 9 AM - 9 PM Monday-Thursday, and 9 AM - 4 PM Friday. Hours are subject to change at any time. Please see our Hours page for current building availability. For more information, see the McDaniel College COVID-19 Information Page Faculty: Please see our COVID-19 Library Access Students: Please see our COVID-19 Student Access page.
The U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPCs), reviews all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics in order to produce evidence-based practice reports on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. Search for reports by date or topic.
The Evidence-Based Practices (EBP) Resource Center provides users with information and tools to incorporate EBP into their communities or clinical settings. The site is searchable by topic, substance, condition, resource type (e.g., toolkit, protocol), target population (e.g. youth, adult), and target audience (e.g., clinician, policymaker).
This site regularly delivers an interesting mix of new information in order to help social service professionals conveniently maintain an awareness of emerging scholarship and news regarding the profession.
At MedlinePlus, the National Library of Medicine’s site for consumers, you can learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
PubMed enables searches of MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database of 30 million+ citations and abstracts for biomedical literature published in more than 5,000 journals worldwide and dating back to 1950. The core subject is medicine, but coverage includes behavioral health, gerontology, and public health, to name just a few topics directly related to social work.
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services agency leading efforts to advance behavioral health and reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness across the nation. Includes links to evidence-based practice and provider training resources, treatment program directories, data sets, and more.
The Child Trends Databank includes nearly 100 key indicators of child and family well-being, covering the domains of health and safety, child care and education, and behaviors linked to positive and negative well-being. For each indicator, data is presented graphically with brief narrative commentary, and links to the raw data source are provided.
This website offers reports, policy recommendations, and resources in support of CDF’s mission to ensure every child’s access to health care, quality education, and a moral and spiritual foundation. As a non-profit child advocacy organization, CDF pays particular attention to the needs of poor children, children of color, and those with disabilities.
This government website offers easy access to current statistics and reports, as collected from and analyzed by a working group of 23 Federal agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. Domains covered include: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
As a nonpartisan, public interest research organization, the NCCP provides program and policy evaluation reports, data and study syntheses, data tools, state profiles, original research results, and online access to thousands of journal articles, research reviews, government reports, and policy briefs relating to child and family poverty in the United States.
Since 1988, the National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect has promoted scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field, including the sharing of datasets for secondary analysis.
A research organization funded by grants, donations, and contracts from government, corporate, and non-profit sources, Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues, for the purpose of fostering sound public policy and effective government.
This page on CMS.gov provides research, statistics, data, systems, and reports related to Medicare and Medicaid services. Use the CMS Data Navigator (accessed at the upper left of the page) to search by program, topic, or setting-of-care; results are displayed by data type (e.g., data file, report, etc.) Explore the rest of the site for general information, news, and patient education tools.
This government website offers easy access to current data sets, statistics, and reports (including infographics) as collected from and analyzed by a working group of more than 15 Federal agencies involved in research and activities related to aging. Resources also include contact links by agency and by subject area.
This page for seniors, on the U.S. government’s official website, provides only a tiny fraction of the available government information on seniors and services available to them. Type “seniors” into the search bar at the top of the guide to search federal, state, and local government websites for even more resources.
The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is the national association supporting quality social work education and providing opportunities for leadership and professional development. Information available on the website includes news, research and statistical reports, policy statements, information about CSWE initiatives, and education resources.
Representing social workers from 126 countries, the International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW) strives for social justice, human rights, and inclusive, sustainable social development via promotion of social work best practice and international cooperation. Click on the “Information Hub” link near the top of any page to search for news, policies, reports, publications, and book reviews.
The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.The website contains resources for practice, career and continuing education, and vulnerable populations advocacy.