Beginning Monday, March 23, Hoover Library will be CLOSED until further notice. Virtual reference services (use the "ASK US" or "CHAT" button) will be available from 1 PM - 9 PM Sunday, 9 AM - 9 PM Monday-Thursday, and 9 AM - 4 PM Friday. Hours are subject to change at any time. Please see our Hours page for current building availability. For more information, see the McDaniel College COVID-19 Information Page Faculty: Please see our COVID-19 Library Access Students: Please see our COVID-19 Student Access page.
An unlinked title is a physical book, available on the library shelves, usually in the reference collection. A linked title is an ebook; clicking on the link will take you directly to the resource.
An Atlas of Poverty in America by Amy K. Glasmeier
Call Number: R 339.4 G548
Publication Date: 2005-11-29
An Atlas of Poverty in America shows how and where America's regional development patterns have become more uneven and graphically illustrates the increasing number of communities falling behind the national economic average. Readers of this Atlas will see how major events and trends have impacted the scope and extent of American poverty in the past half-century.
Poverty in the United States : an encyclopedia of history, politics, and policy by Gwendolyn Mink (Editor); Alice M. O'Connor (Editor)
Call Number: R 339.46 P879, v.1-2
Publication Date: 2004-11-22
With an emphasis on the 20th century, Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy follows the history of poverty in the U.S. and examines the evolution of public policy and the impact of critical movements in social welfare such as the New Deal, the War on Poverty, and, more recently, the "end of welfare as we know it."
Child Poverty in America Today by Barbara A. Arrighi (Editor); David J. Maume (Editor)
Call Number: R 362.708694 C536
Publication Date: 2007-05-30
This four-volume set is designed to reveal, explicate, analyze, and assess the effects of an inadequate income on children. Each volume contains original essays written by an interdisciplinary roster of contributors.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2019 by Bernian Press Staff
Call Number: R 317.3 S798 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-21
With more than 1,400 tables from hundreds of sources, The Statistical Abstract of the United States provides a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions in America. .
Now revised and expanded, this widely-used desk reference provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy.
Hispanic Americans by Paul McCaffrey
Call Number: 305.8968073 H673
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Surveys the growing cultural and demographic influence of Hispanic Americans, analyzing their integration into U.S. society.
Hispanic Americans by Louise L. Hornor (Editor); Information Publications
Call Number: 305.868 H673
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Encyclopedia of World Poverty by Mehmet Odekon (Editor)
Call Number: R 362.503 E56, v.1-3
Publication Date: 2006-05-16
Written by more than 125 contributing scholars, the 800+ articles in this three-volume,state-of-the-art Encyclopedia explore poverty in various regions of the world and examine the difficulties associated with the definition and measurement of poverty, along with its causes and effects.
Encyclopedia of Homelessness by David Levinson (Editor)
Call Number: R 362.5 E56
Publication Date: 2004-06-21
With contributing authors from the United States and many other countries offering a wide variety of perspectives, this two-volume set provides rich history, compelling data, and an interdisciplinary summary of what we know about homelessness.
Statistical Handbook on Poverty in the Developing World by Chandrika Kaul (Editor); Valerie Tomaselli-Moschovitis (Editor)
Call Number: R 339.46 S797
Publication Date: 1999-09-07
With data drawn from authoritative sources, such as the World Bank and the UN Human Development Report, this volume includes statistics on economic indicators, demographic patterns, income distribution, and other factors related to the causes and effects of poverty, both globally and regionally. A special section focuses on women and children.
Statistical Handbook on the World's Children by Chandrika Kaul
Call Number: R 305.23 K21
Publication Date: 2001-12-30
Drawing from a wide range of national and international sources, the Handbook offers data on some of the most important aspects of global issues affecting children, such as demography, education, health and nutrition, disease, economics, social life, and crime.