Beginning Monday, March 23, Hoover Library will be CLOSED until further notice. Virtual reference services (use the "ASK US" or "CHAT" button) will be available from 1 PM - 9 PM Sunday, 9 AM - 9 PM Monday-Thursday, and 9 AM - 4 PM Friday. Hours are subject to change at any time. Please see our Hours page for current building availability. For more information, see the McDaniel College COVID-19 Information Page Faculty: Please see our COVID-19 Library Access Students: Please see our COVID-19 Student Access page.
*Sociology: SOC3201 (Gay Around the Globe) Dr. Raley
Providing full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, this database offers a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, including journals, books, magazines and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press that provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Ethnic NewsWatch contains nearly 500,000 complete articles from 1959 to the present.
Google Scholar allows you to broadly search for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles across many disciplines and sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations.
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality by Wayne R. Dynes (Editor)
Call Number: R 306.76603 E56
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Some 770 articles in this two-volume set provide interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and cross-cultural scholarship on male and female homosexuality and bisexuality, examining the effects of homophilia and homophobia on literature, art, religion, science, law, philosophy, society, and history.
Encyclopedia of Gay Histories and Cultures by George Haggerty (Editor)
Call Number: R 306.766 G285
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Signed articles ranging from half a page to about six pages provide background information on a variety of topics, both narrow and broad, relevant to gay history and culture. The work includes a lengthy index; and each article concludes with a bibliography and cross references.
The Dictionary of Homophobia by Louis-Georges Tin (Editor); Marek Redburn (Translator)
Call Number: R 306.766 D554
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
Containing more than 175 essays based on the work of seventy researchers in fifteen countries, The Dictionary of Homophobia documents the history of homosexuality, and various cultural responses to it, in all regions of the world: Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the South Pacific, from the earliest epochs to the present day.
Homosexuality and Religion by Jeffrey S. Siker
Call Number: R 200.8664 H768
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
With overview essays and A-Z entries covering a wide range of religious traditions, this is the most comprehensive volume to date on the intersections between religion and homosexuality. Entries include significant bibliographic references, including websites, for further study.
Homosexuality and Civilization by Louis Crompton
Call Number: 306.76609 C945
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
Louis Crompton chronicles the lives and achievements of homosexual men and women alongside a darker history of persecution, as he compares the Christian West with the cultures of ancient Greece and Rome, Arab Spain, imperial China, and pre-Meiji Japan.
Queer Globalizations by Arnaldo Cruz-Malavé (Editor); Martin F. Manalansan (Editor)
Call Number: 306.766 Q3
Publication Date: 2002-08-15
Written from multiple perspectives, the essays in Queer Globalizations consider the emergence of queer identities and cultures on a global scale by examining the defining narratives of globalization, assessing the validity of the claims made for globalization, and identifying the rhetorical strategies through which these claims are constructed.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by David A. Gerstner (Editor)
Call Number: 306.76 R869
Publication Date: 2011-05-17
Contributors representing many backgrounds and ideologies cover post- 1945 GLBTQ culture, history and politics across the disciplines, with a strong international approach. Appendices, bibliographies, cross references, and a full index enhance the researcher’s ability to synthesize information from several articles.
The A to Z of Homosexuality by Brent L. Pickett
Call Number: 306.77 P597
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
The A to Z of Homosexuality provides a global survey of same-sex relations from ancient times to the present day, including philosophic and legal treatments, historical figures, and social norms. The included chronology, introductory essay, bibliography, and cross-referenced entries point to, and enable synthesis of, other sources.
Sexuality and Human Rights by International Bar Association, Conference Staff (Contribution by); Helmut Graupner (Editor); Phillip Tahmindjis
Call Number: 306.766 I61
Publication Date: 2005-07-05
Internationally recognized legal experts review laws relating to human sexuality, from historical foundations and shifting public opinions through the most recent landmark legal cases, providing a well-referenced, comprehensive, and up-to-date examination of the legal issues involving LGBT individuals' rights around the world.
Gay and Lesbian Communities the World Over by Alison M. Brooks; Rita J. Simon
Call Number: 306.766 S596
Publication Date: 2011-09-16
Gay and Lesbian Communities the World Over explores the history of homosexuality dating back to ancient Greece and Rome, surveys attitudes toward gays and lesbians within the world's most prominent religions, the arts, literature, and film, and examines the present-day treatment and status of gays and lesbians in 21 countries around the world.
Culture, Society and Sexuality by Richard G. Parker (Editor); Peter Aggleton (Editor)
Call Number: 306.7 C969
Publication Date: 2007-02-23
Culture, Society and Sexuality brings together and makes accessible a broad and international selection of readings to provide insights into the social, cultural, political and economic dimensions of sexuality and relationships, and emerging discourses around sexual and reproductive rights.
Feminism, Multiculturalism, and the Media by Angharad N. Valdivia (Editor)
Call Number: 302.23082 F329
Publication Date: 1995-09-27
This book explores intersecting variables of oppression by means of compelling case studies illustrating how issues of gender, ethnicity, class, sexual orientation and global origin affect the media coverage, portrayal and reception of individuals.
Chinese Male Homosexualities by Travis S. K. Kong
Call Number: 306.7662 K82
Publication Date: 2010-08-18
Kong reports the results of an extensive ethnographic study of contemporary Chinese gay men, relating Chinese male homosexuality to social and cultural theories on gender, sexuality and the body, postcolonialism, and globalization, and concluding that different gay male identities emerge in different locations.
Originally published by the Harvard Gay & Lesbian Caucus, issues from 1994 to 1999 are indexed under this title. Since dissolution of official ties to Harvard in 2000, the magazine has been published (and indexed) as The Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide.
Promotes the understanding of social welfare by applying social science knowledge and methods to social problems. Coverage includes social change, gender, race, homelessness, social welfare history, cultural diversity, international social welfare, and the social dimensions of health and mental health.
This international, interdisciplinary journal publishes peer-reviewed theoretical articles and empirical articles on the ethical, cultural, psychological, social, or political implications of sexual behavior, as well as critical review of books and other media.
This international, multidisciplinary journal publishes empirical research and theory on topics impacting policies regarding sexual health, education, and rights. Also included are conference reports, white papers, book and media reviews, together with guest editorials and commentaries.
Devoted exclusively to sociology of religion. Carries broad range of articles on theoretical & empirical issues. Is a forum for scholarship in classic tradition of comparative, historical & theoretical work.
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films.
A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos 24/7. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system.
Use the questions on the chart linked below to help you determine the usefulness of information you find on a website.
Across four programmes and a range of investigations which reach from the UK to India, Egypt, Greece and Native America, Richard Coles discovers a far more complex and nuanced story than one of darkness into light. (Episode 4 concludes the series by looking at the globalisation of gay identity. )
Formerly known as the International Gay & Lesbian Human Rights Commission. Leading international organization dedicated to human rights advocacy on behalf of people who experience discrimination or abuse on the basis of their actual or perceived sexual orientation, gender identity or expression.
Helem leads a peaceful struggle for the liberation of Lesbians, Gays, Schultzxuals and Transgendered (LGBT), and other persons with non-conforming sexuality or gender identity in Lebanon from all sorts of violations of civil, political, economic, social, or cultural rights.