*English: Supplemental Resources

This academic journal contains articles studying US literature, from its beginnings to present day.

Oxford Bibliographies provides a variety of bibliographic links and information about peer-reviewed scholarship within the American Literature genre.

The Emily Dickinson International Society was incorporated in 1988 in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to:
* Promote, perpetuate, and enhance the study and appreciation of Emily Dickinson throughout the world
* Establish and support local chapters
* Sponsor a journal
* Establish a Center for Dickinson Studies

The society was founded in 1973 and began presenting programs at various regional and national academic gatherings in 1976. In 1981, it became an allied member of the Modern Language Association. Today, it sponsors academic panels on Frost's life and work at two annual conventions: the Modern Language Association and the American Literature Association.

From Voice of the Shuttle (VoS). Links to works by individual writers by time period, criticism, journals, teaching resources and more.

The motherload of Walt Whitman sites. Contains criticisms, biography, manuscripts, and other resources.

"Since 1973, Appalachian Heritage has served as a major outlet for the creative writing and art of The Southern Appalachian Region."

"Formed in 1977 by a group of scholars, teachers, and regional activists who believed that shared community has been and will continue to be important to those writing, researching, and teaching about Appalachia."

This online collection houses information and primary sources about Appalachian culture in a variety of media formats.

With access provided through JSTOR, the Journal of the Appalachian Studies Association includes scholarship on the culture and literature of Appalachia.

Oxford Bibliographies provides a variety of bibliographic links and information about peer-reviewed scholarship within the British and Irish Literature genre.

Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies and basic information.

"Seeks to collect any and all Net materials pertaining to the works and life of Edmund Spenser."

A project of the University of Victoria (Canada), this site aims "to inspire a love of Shakespeare's works by delivering open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability."

"The Jane Austen Society of North America is dedicated to the enjoyment and appreciation of Jane Austen and her writing. JASNA is a nonprofit organization staffed by volunteers, with approximately 4,000 members and more than 65 regional groups in the United States and Canada. Its members, who are of all ages and from diverse walks of life, share an enjoyment of Austen’s fiction and the company of like-minded readers."

"Good, reliable E-texts of Milton's works, some with commentary and textual variants, along with a Selected Bibliography of Criticism, 1987-1996."

Information on the Society, with tributes to Marlowe.

Oxford Bibliographies provides a variety of bibliographic links and information about peer-reviewed scholarship within the Medieval Literature genre.

Search Shakespeare's works to find all instances of a particular word or words.

Site devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. Has numerous links.

This resource gives information about Agatha Christie's life, characters, and books, as well as current news about her works.

This website provides a collection of essays, interviews, podcasts, reading lists, and more in the mystery and detective genre.

This web resource is devoted to the fictional detective Maigret as well as his creator George Simenon.

This online mystery network gives information about many famous mystery books and authors, as well as providing online mysteries, mystery games, mystery books, and other resources.

This resource provides an overview of traditional mysteries and authors.

Provides fact sheets, publications, and news on court cases

Archives materials and organizes exhibitions focusing on the development and importance of the GLBT community. Also holds social events and offers news and other resources.

An online encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, & queer culture

This online resource provides a general introduction to gender studies.

This website supports the publication and engagement with LGBTQ+ literature and includes reviews of books in this genre and calls for submission from other similar organizations.

"OutHistory.org is a website in development about gender and sexual history, that aims to encourage us to think deeply and critically about historical evidence and what it means to understand LGBT and heterosexual life in the perspective of society and time. In the Content area of the site, there is the ability to browse its entries by Topic or Resource Type."

"Presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people. It includes hundreds of original texts, and discussions, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world. Part of the Fordham University Internet History Sourcebooks Project."

This web resource provides informative links to other websites regarding studies on gender and sexuality.

Has biographical information, photos, and some poems by American poets.

MAPS "is a comprehensive learning environment and scholarly forum for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry," hosted by the English Department of Framingham [Massachusetts] State University

Information, links, and poetry news.

Resources for creative writers. Includes the Directory of American Poets and Fiction Writers.

This website provides analysis and resources for the study of disabilities in the romance genre.

This journal is a "double-blind peer reviewed interdisciplinary journal exploring popular romance fiction and the logics, institutions, and social practices of romantic love in global popular culture."

Romance Writers of America"a nonprofit trade association whose mission is to advance the professional and common business interests of career-focused romance writers through networking and advocacy and by increasing public awareness of the romance genre." Their website includes statistics on the genre and links to other resources.

This resource discusses the romance genre from an academic perspective, as well as providing links to other resources.

Extrapolation was the first journal to publish academic work on science fiction and fantasy works, and continues to be a leading scholarly journal for science fiction in the international community.

"One of the oldest science fiction clubs in New England."

"The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database is an on-line, searchable compilation and extension of Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1878-1985, Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1985-1991, and Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1992-1995, including material located since publication of the last printed volume. Most material was obtained and examined by the compiler; the remainder was verified in a reliable secondary source."

This website provides links to other resources that give information about Feminist theory and theorists.

Kate Chopin International Society

"S&F Online, a biannual, multimedia, online-only journal of feminist theories and women's movements, provides public access to the Barnard Center for Research on Women's most innovative programming by providing written transcripts, audio and visual recordings, and links to relevant intellectual and social action networks."

"Presented by the University of Minnesota, this site celebrates and documents the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women. VG is one of the Internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color."