*Communication: Communication resources

This site is a springboard that librarians, students, and researchers can use to find information in the area of communication studies. It is not exhaustive; rather, it includes the core or primary resources within each category presented. The concept of subject guides to communication studies resources was originated by communication studies librarians serving as members of the Association of College and Research Libraries Educational and Behavioral Sciences Section Communication Studies Committee.These pages are maintained by the Communication Studies Committee of EBSS.

International organization of more than 3,300 journalism/mass communication faculty, students, administrators, and professionals.

The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB), a collaboration between the Library of Congress, WGBH Boston and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting provides the public with access to a collection of American public radio and television audio and visual materials dating back to the 1950s. The records will provide information about which public media video and audio materials have been digitized and preserved in the AAPB, indicate which video and audio files are available for research on location at WGBH and the Library of Congress, and highlight the participating stations. Contributing stations’ histories, information about significant productions and resources for participating organizations will be available online.

Organization promotes academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication. Site includes links to resources in communication studies and communication law.

Broadcasts of various federal government events such as press conferences, bill signing ceremonies, political meetings, congressional hearings and debates. 160,000 hours of programming since 1987. Also links to Booknotes and Book TV

Non-profit organization supporting the use of computer technologies in the service of communication scholarship and education. Site includes a variety of resources for research and professional development. Some are limited to UCSD students.

An international association for scholars interested in the study, teaching and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.

The oldest and largest national organization to promote communication scholarship and education and works to enhance the research, teaching, and service produced by its members on topics of both intellectual and social significance

"Established in 1965, the Archive is the second-largest repository of motion pictures and broadcast programming in the United States, after the Library of Congress, and the world's largest university-held collection. More than 520,000 holdings of films, television programs, news footage and radio recordings are conserved in a state-of-the-art facility in Santa Clarita, California." (Archive website)

"The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news.... providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004)." (VTNA website)