Hoover Library: Statistics: Specialized Statistics

Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics (U.S. Dept. of Justice)
A primary source for criminal justice statistics. Find statistics and reports on crime rates & trends, victim characteristics, offender characteristics, incarceration rates, etc.
UNODC- United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime
International reports and statistics on international crime and drug activities.

Business

The following major business journals cover a wide range of topics and offer terrific lists, rankings. They are big on "the most this" and "the best that" and or round numbers of things, such as the "top 500" or "top 200".

Other Resources

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista.com is a statistics portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

ALFRED ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data
International Monetary Fund
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Through the World Economic Outlook Database users can access select time series from 1980 to the present.
International Trade Centre
This site of the United Nations International Trade Center provides import and export data by product group and country or by country and product group. Click on countries and then trade statistics aggregates.
Nielsen//NetRatings
Web-audience measurement statistics, geared to marketing professionals or other subscribers who want to identify their audience. The "Resources" section contains industry news, free reports of U.S. and international usage and advertising statistics, and downloadable presentations (webinars).
Trade Statistics
Trade Policy & Analysis (TP&A) publishes a variety of data series and reports for both public and government use.
U.S. Global Agricultural Trade System
Provides data on U.S. imports and exports of textile, agricultural, fishery, and forestry products back to 1989. A site of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Foreign Agricultural Service.
USAID: Latin America and the Caribbean
Provides comprehensive economic statistics for Latin America and the Caribbean: economic indicators, environment, trade, investment and poverty.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis
Statistics and reports of US economic information such as GDP, personal income, trade statistics, state-level economic information, and industry analysis.
US Foreign trade statistics

Education

A selection of resources for finding statistics related to education topics.

Digest of Educational Statistics
A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
Education Finance Statistics Center
This site contains surveys, reports, and other government information on U.S. elementary and secondary public and private education finance, as well as graphs and charts depicting national and state comparison data.
Online Education Database
Collection of statistics on enrollment, number of graduates, information on teachers, financing of schools, etc.
US National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Definitive source of US education statistics for primary, secondary and higher education systems.
World Bank DataBank: Education Statistics
Provides statistics on education expenditures, projects, attainment and reports by country.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose the "DATA" link from the top menu to access datasets produced by the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Health & Medicine

This guide highlights health data available at the state, federal and international level in several areas of health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention CDC –Data & Statistics
Online source for credible health information
Global Health Observatory
An interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 194 WHO (World Health Organization) Member States. It comprises more than 1000 indicators, which can be accessed by way of a quick search, by major categories, or through user-defined tables. The data are also published annually in the World Health Statistics Report released in May.
Health and Medical Statistics on the Internet
HHS Data Council Gateway to Data and Statistics
US. Depart. Of Health& Human Service
MedlinePlus Health Statistics
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Provides weekly statistics on selected notifiable diseases in the United States and U.S. territories. Click on Weekly Report then on Current Volume to see the current issues
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Run by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) the NCHS collects health information which includes things outside of typical health topics. Additional information includes: mortality & natality, exercise, marriage, injury, and access to health care
State Health Facts
Vital and Health Statistics Series ("The Rainbow Series")
An ongoing series providing data on the national population, including natality, marriage, divorce, family growth, induced terminations of pregnancy, and more.

Labor

Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject –Bureau of Labor Statistics
Culmination of US labor-related and consumer-related statistics, including employment rates, wages, inflation, and historical data.
ILOSTAT - International Labor Organization Statistics
Provides international information on wages, employment rates, cost of goods, hours worked, etc.

Population

US Census of Population And Housing
Census of Population and Housing data present here ranges from our most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical census information available to the public.
International Data Base (IDB)
Find population statistics and graphs for every country in the world, including population pyramids, projections & rankings.
Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau's 2009 World Population Data Sheet and its summary report offer detailed information about country, regional, and global population patterns.

Public Opinion

Gallup
Public opinion statistics on a number of topics, such as the economy and politics. Coverage of both domestic and world issues.
Pew Research Center
One of the foremost research centers in the United States.
Pew Global Attitudes Project
"The Pew Global Attitudes Project is a series of worldwide public opinion surveys that encompasses a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 200,000 interviews in 57 countries have been conducted as part of the project's work."
Polling Report.
Compiles polling information from a wide variety of news sources, focusing on trends in American public opinion.
HuffPost Pollster
Political surveys and election polls, trends, charts and analysis.

Statistics: Specialized Statistics