Housed at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, this sourcebook brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Coverage extends through 2013.
Established in 1979 by the U.S. Department of Justice, the BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, offenders, victims, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
From the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides data and statistics related to crime on college and university campuses. Download data for a school or schools, or use the online tools to generate trend data.
From the U.S. Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, this page collects and describes datasets related to juvenile offending, victimization, and the juvenile justice system. Select a dataset from the dropdown menu to learn about its scope, methods, and how to access it.
Find inmate, population, and staff statistics (most of which are updated monthly) for public and private facilities housing federal prisoners. You can also generate reports, graphs, and charts, and view past totals.
Here you will find summary findings, statistical publications, csv files, and data for the following topics: local police, sheriff's offices, federal, tribal, and campus law enforcement, forensics, police-public contact, arrest related deaths, and community policing.
NACJD archives and disseminates data on crime and justice from more than 3,100 curated studies for secondary analysis. For any given data set, users can also retrieve a list of citations to published analyses.
NCVS is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 150,000 households, comprising nearly 240,000 persons, on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States.
Gathered and maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the UCR program has been providing crime statistics since 1930. It includes data from more than 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies.
Six editions of the ESB provide police, prosecution, court, and prison statistics for European countries over the time period 1990 to 2016. Select “Printed Editions” and use the dropdown menu to access .pdfs of each edition.
From the United Nations: “The International Classification of Crime for Statistical Purposes (ICCS) provides a comprehensive framework for producing statistics on crime and criminal justice. Its primary unit of classification is the act or event that constitutes a criminal offence and the description of the criminal acts is based on behaviours and not on legal provisions.”
Users of this searchable database hosted by the Rutgers Law Library can find crime data and statistics by subject or country. Sources indexed are those not commercially published, such as technical reports, working papers, government/agency reports, and conference proceedings.
The World Prison Brief (WPB) is a unique database that provides free access to information about prison systems throughout the world. Country information is updated on a monthly basis, using data largely derived from governmental or other official sources. Each country page gives information on:
• total prison populations, and prison population rates per 100,000 of the national population
• the use of imprisonment for women, juveniles and foreign nationals
• the extent of pre-trial/remand imprisonment
• prison overcrowding, as indicated by occupancy levels
• news and official reports on prison conditions
• details of local organisations and other resources
• department or ministry responsible for prisons, with contact information