Skip to Main Content

Construction Closure

Hoover Library and the McDaniel Archives Reading Room will be closing for construction from Monday, 12/16/24, reopening Tuesday, 1/21/25. The librarians and all virtual resources and services will be available throughout the closure. For specific questions, contact Elizabeth Davidson. For information on holiday hours, please see our hours page.

*Criminal Justice: Find Background Info

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Specialized dictionaries will orient you to the meanings of terms frequently used in the subject they cover, including discipline-specific and technical uses of common words.

In the list below:

If the title is a physical book, the link will take you to the catalog record, which will tell you where in the library you can find it.
If the title is an ebook, the link will take you directly to the resource.

Black's Law Dictionary 11th Edition, Hardcover
Call Number: R 340.03 B627
ISBN: 9781539229759
Publication Date: 2019-07-01
US
Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations Used in American Law Books
Call Number: R 340.031 B586
ISBN: 0930342968
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
This sourcebook defines over sixteen thousand domestic and international abbreviations, acronyms, and symbols used in contemporary legal literature for the law student or legal researcher.

Specialized encyclopedias and handbooks are often the best place to begin your research for several reasons. The brief overview articles they contain can help you organize your thoughts, narrow your topic, and determine keywords for a database search. The bibliography at the end of most articles points you to influential thinkers and writers on that topic, which you can also search in a database.

In the list below:

If the title is a physical book, the link will take you to the catalog record, which will tell you where in the library you can find it.
If the title is an ebook, the link will take you directly to the resource.

Crime and Punishment in America
Call Number: 364.973 C9283
ISBN: 9781610699273
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Organized alphabetically, the entries in this multidisciplinary reference work address the most controversial topics in criminal justice, providing essential background, current data, and thorough analysis from a range of scholarly and other authoritative viewpoints.
The Encyclopedia of American Crime
Call Number: R 364.973 S573
ISBN: 0816040400
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Chosen based on their symbolic or historical relevance, the 2000 A-Z biographies, definitions, and detailed accounts in this resource cover significant crimes, criminals, and law enforcement figures and techniques.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Call Number: R 364.03 E56
ISBN: 002865319X
Publication Date: 2001-10-15
Drawing on insights from the social sciences and history, this work offers comprehensive coverage of crime: types, social causes, laws, and effective responses. Useful tools include bibliographies, cross references, a glossary of legal terms, and an index of court cases cited.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment
Call Number: R 346.03 E56
ISBN: 076192258X
Publication Date: 2002-03-18
Focusing on crime and punishment in the contemporary United States, this work covers concepts and theories, correction, law, crimes, methods/statistics, national surveys, organizations, police science, and social/cultural context. It also includes a master bibliography.
The Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation
Call Number: 363.252 N565
ISBN: 9780816068142
Publication Date: 2008-01-30
More than 300 entries cover all aspects of crime scene investigations, including ballistics, counterfeiting, forensic medicine, firearms, identification, poisons, tool marks, and trace evidence. Additional entries include case studies highlighting facets of criminal investigation, as well as historical and biographical essays about key breakthroughs and pioneers in the field of forensic science.
Encyclopedia of Criminology
Call Number: R 364 E56
ISBN: 1579583873
Publication Date: 2005-01-02
More than 525 entries comprise this comprehensive review of the pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices of criminology and criminal justice. While the primary focus is the United States, the work also includes coverage of other nations’ justice systems and the international nature of crime.
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement
Call Number: R 363.20973 E56
ISBN: 0761926496
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
With more than 250 contributors and over 400 essays, this work provides a comprehensive, critical, and descriptive examination of all facets of local/state, federal/national, and international law enforcement practice and theory, within historical, contemporary, global, and multidisciplinary contexts.
Encyclopedia of Law and Society
Call Number: R 340 E56
ISBN: 9780761923879
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
This work comprehensively covers both American and international law and society within their historical and comparative context, and from a variety of interdisciplinary perspectives, including sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology, and economics.
Legal Systems of the World
Call Number: R 340.03 K92
ISBN: 1576072312
Publication Date: 2002-06-20
In 400 entries by an international team of more than 350 scholars, this work explores the structure, operation, and history of legal and judicial systems around the world. Included are transnational bodies, alternative legal systems, and universal legal institutions, concepts, and documents.

Specialized encyclopedias and handbooks are often the best place to begin your research for several reasons. The brief overview articles they contain can help you organize your thoughts, narrow your topic, and determine keywords for a database search. The bibliography at the end of most articles points you to influential thinkers and writers on that topic, which you can also search in a database.

In the list below:

If the title is a physical book, the link will take you to the catalog record, which will tell you where in the library you can find it.
If the title is an ebook, the link will take you directly to the resource.

Gun Control in the United States
Call Number: 363.33 C323
ISBN: 9781851097609
Publication Date: 2006-06-06
This reference work breaks the gun control debate into digestible topics: history, effectiveness, comparison with other industrialized countries, legislation and court cases, individuals and organizations, and reliable further resources. It includes a timeline of key legislation, court decisions, and historical events, as well as an annotated bibliography of additional resources.
Race Law
Call Number: 346.013 H635
ISBN: 0890892350
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Comprising an in-depth examination of the issue of race in the American legal process from the formation of the U.S. Constitution in 1787 to the present, this book blends primary sources and scholarly analysis including historical background information, legislation, state and federal court decisions, commentary, biographical information, and questions.

Specialized encyclopedias and handbooks are often the best place to begin your research for several reasons. The brief overview articles they contain can help you organize your thoughts, narrow your topic, and determine keywords for a database search. The bibliography at the end of most articles points you to influential thinkers and writers on that topic, which you can also search in a database.

In the list below:

If the title is a physical book, the link will take you to the catalog record, which will tell you where in the library you can find it.
If the title is an ebook, the link will take you directly to the resource.

The Complete Bill of Rights
Call Number: R 342.73 C737
ISBN: 9780195103229
Publication Date: 1997-10-16
Arranged in chronological order, this work is a documentary record of the process by which the Bill of Rights was defined and recorded as law. Using extensive primary source materials (including every draft of the text; state convention proposals; state, colonial, and English constitutional texts; caselaw and treatises; diaries and correspondence; pamphlets and newspapers; and Congressional debate records) the editor traces each clause from its origins to its final form.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Call Number: R 342.003 E56
ISBN: 0028648803
Publication Date: 2000-06-19
With articles authored by lawyers, historians, and political scientists, this six-volume set provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, and the people, events, and ideas that have impacted our legal framework. Appendices include a case index and primary documents.
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments
Call Number: R 342.03 V699
ISBN: 0874367832
Publication Date: 1996-08-20
Covering both amendments and proposed amendments which were never ratified, each entry in this work describes the amendment or proposed amendment in question and explains its significance, including date of introduction, historical context, key players, and related unusual or otherwise interesting information.
Maryland Criminal Law
Call Number: R 345.752 M393
ISBN: 0890590915
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Covering every Maryland appellate criminal case from 1957 through 1997, and organized by topic, this work helps users find cases directly on point, as well as important related cases. Each entry summarizes the appeal court’s decision and provides the case citation. Use the “Outline of Classifications” to locate multiple cases by broad topic or use the Index for more focused research.
The USA Patriot Act: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: 345.7302 B187
ISBN: 1851097228
Publication Date: 2004-08-30
This work draws from the history of both security threats over the last 60 years and the temporary surrender of civil rights during past American wars to analyze the 2001 Patriot Act as it exists, along with supplements proposed in 2003. The result is an in-depth examination of the task of balancing civil liberties and national security.
The U. S. Constitution A to Z
Call Number: 342.73 M179
ISBN: 1568026994
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
In addition to 250 topical entries covering constitutional concepts and ideas, this work includes an annotated Constitution, a timeline of constitutional history, a table of cases, and an index. Entries include: Abortion, Armed Forces, Bill of Rights, Census, Hate Crimes, Human Rights, Justice, Searches and Seizures, and more.

Specialized encyclopedias and handbooks are often the best place to begin your research for several reasons. The brief overview articles they contain can help you organize your thoughts, narrow your topic, and determine keywords for a database search. The bibliography at the end of most articles points you to influential thinkers and writers on that topic, which you can also search in a database.

In the list below:

If the title is a physical book, the link will take you to the catalog record, which will tell you where in the library you can find it.
If the title is an ebook, the link will take you directly to the resource.

Cybercrime
Call Number: 364.168 S322
ISBN: 1851096833
Publication Date: 2004-10-18
This reference work contains original essays covering the history, legislative, and technical aspects of cybercrime and the efforts to combat it, including an extensive glossary of criminal, technical, and slang terminology.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behaviour
Call Number: 364.03 E57
ISBN: 1560327723
Publication Date: 2000-11-10
Edited by Clifton Bryant, a Fulbright professor and founding editor of the journal Deviant Behavior, this reference work contains more than 550 entries covering topics related to criminology and deviant behavior under the broad categories of historical, conceptual, and theoretical issues and self-destructive and disvalues identity. Each entry includes a comprehensive definition of the term, concise practical information, and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Cybercrime
Call Number: 364.16803 E56
ISBN: 9780313339745
Publication Date: 2008-11-30
The topical articles in this reference work address the many evolving aspects of cybercrime, including, but not limited to: terminology, definitions, and social constructs of crime; human and technological theoretical underpinnings of cybercrime; laws and regulations aimed at preventing and combatting cybercrime; perspectives of law enforcement and other stakeholders; and computer forensics and investigation/prosecution of cybercrime in the U.S. and internationally.
The Encyclopedia of Serial Killers
Call Number: 364.1523 N565
ISBN: 0816039798
Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Entries in this work detail individual cases of serial murder from ancient Rome to the year 2000. Also included in the more than 240 entries are articles on law enforcement agents and their techniques, the factors that contribute to the development of a serial killer, and how society chooses to deal with and punish these vicious criminals.
Famous American Crimes and Trials
Call Number: R 364.973 F198
ISBN: 0275983331
Publication Date: 2004-10-30
Spanning the years 1607 to 2000, each chapter in this five-volume set focuses on a different crime or trial that not only made news headlines in its own time, but also became part of the popular and legal culture of the U. S.
Hate Crimes
Call Number: 364.15 A469
ISBN: 1851096248
Publication Date: 2005-04-25
This work provides background on hate crimes in the United States and abroad, and the legal, political, and educational efforts to combat violence against minority group members. Narrative chapters report on the frequency and extent of these crimes and the history of related legislation. Also included are a chronology of hate crime, an extensive bibliography, and a directory of organizations promoting tolerance.

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2024 10:26 AM
Print Page
Login to LibApps