Renovation efforts took place in Hoover Library during the summer of 2023. They were spread across the second and third floors. Each project has a tab below, and the information here is about the projects, including photos, and status.
In the summer of 2023, the library undertook four building projects, all interconnected:
The major period of construction was in late August. The third floor was closed to public access during portions of that period, with staff able to retrieve materials as needed. Some space closures on the second floor also took place, but the remainder of the floor was open. Construction is not possible without disruption of some kind, but the L and LL floors of the library were not affected by these projects and were still available as quiet spaces. Signage in the building was completely updated prior to the start of the fall term.
PROJECT STATUS: Completed.
PROJECT DESCRIPTION:
As noted in the Austin Special Collections Room tab, the existing Austin Classroom was inadequate for the increased levels of instruction and larger groups the library serves, so an evaluation of the library building was conducted to find a suitable location for a new classroom. This space was found on the third floor.
Putting a classroom in this space necessitated relocation of some library collections, and this work was ongoing for most of the 2023 academic year. First was relocation of the large format items (folios and quartos) to the Compact Shelving on the LL floor of the library. Second was weeding of the 150-299 range of materials on the third floor. Weeding entailed evaluation of materials by all of the Hoover librarians using criteria such as age, condition and historical use patterns.
Shelving currently in the new classroom space was relocated to the Austin Classroom and that room will be repurposed for special collections and archives use.
Construction of the new classroom (designated Room 314) entailed the installation of a glass curtain wall at the Merritt side of the space so that there could be unobstructed views from the windows on the third floor, as well as an interior trim wall matching the architectural detail of existing rooms on the third floor. New carpeting, white board wall paint and projectors completed the transformation of the space into a fully functional classroom for library instruction.
Before and after:
Progress photos:
Third floor classroom layout:
PROJECT STATUS:
PROJECT DESCRIPTION:
The Archives Reading Room (212) is the public focal point of the McDaniel Archives, a space where researchers can use archival materials, where processing and other work can take place, and the office for the College Archivist & Special Collections Librarian. Renovation of this room will include new carpeting, paint, and lighting upgrades. Additional storage for art pieces will be installed, as well as a general reorganization of items housed here to make the space more functional.
PROJECT COMPLETION DATE:
July 31, 2023
Room layout plan:
Before & After:
Progress photos:
PROJECT STATUS:
PROJECT DESCRIPTION:
Room 203, the Austin Special Collections Room (formerly the Austin Classroom) is a space located behind the Benson Classroom on the second floor of Hoover Library. This room presented problems for use in instruction, including insufficient capacity and accessibility issues. These issues could not be remediated in the existing space. Creating a new classroom on the third floor of the library freed up this room for other uses. The McDaniel Archives will utilize this space for library special collections and other items that do not require the specific climate controls that are in place in the general archives. There is no direct public access to this room. Materials housed here will be retrieved by library staff as needed.
Project work here included relocation of furniture and technology to the new classroom and the installation of shelving that is being removed on the third floor.
Layout of Austin Special Collections Room:
PROJECT STATUS:
PROJECT DESCRIPTION:
The second floor rotunda houses display shelving for current print periodicals. As the library reduces its print subscriptions, moving to electronic journals when available, this display area requires less space. At the same time, display space for art materials is at a premium throughout the library, and many pieces have been stored in the Archives Reading Room.
Removal of several sections of periodical displays and the installation of slatwall panels for hanging art pieces enabled these pieces to once again be available for public viewing and freed up space in the Reading Room.
Before & After:
Progress photos:
