Beginning Monday, March 23, Hoover Library will be CLOSED until further notice. Virtual reference services (use the "ASK US" or "CHAT" button) will be available from 1 PM - 9 PM Sunday, 9 AM - 9 PM Monday-Thursday, and 9 AM - 4 PM Friday. Hours are subject to change at any time. Please see our Hours page for current building availability. For more information, see the McDaniel College COVID-19 Information Page Faculty: Please see our COVID-19 Library Access Students: Please see our COVID-19 Student Access page.
*Religious Studies: Christianity
Books and other items on Christianity
Clicking the links below will show items in the library catalog on these subjects. Some of the lists will be quite large - use the filters on the left column of the list to narrow your search:
(State and University Library of Lower Saxony, Germany) Digital images of the Göttingen Gutenberg Bible. From an exhibition celebrating the 600th anniversary of the birth of Johann Gutenberg in 2000. Information about Gutenberg, the early period of letterpress printing and its impact.
"The Aquinas Translation Project is a web-based project which seeks to provide scholars, religious and any interested individuals with translations of St. Thomas Aquinas's works not readily available in English."
"The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries."
Baptist Studies Online is dedicated to the study of Baptist history and thought, with special emphasis on Baptists in North America. The purpose of BSO is to facilitate the scholarly study of Baptists by making available to researchers and students an online Journal, a primary source library, a comprehensive collection of Baptist history-related links, and a regularly updated list of announcements related to the field. BSO is a collaborative effort by Baptist scholars from a variety of traditions, with funding provided by California Baptist University in Riverside, California.
This database provides bibliographic information for articles, essays, and lectures produced from the 16th century to the present which deal with John Calvin and 16th century Calvinism.
In 1971 the Calvinism Resources Database (CaRD) began as a "Calvin Bibliography" covering the years 1960-1970. It was compiled by Joseph N. Tylenda, a Jesuit priest, and published in the Calvin Theological Journal. Since that time, the Journal has published annually in its November issue the "Calvin Bibliography".
The bibliography and database are maintained by the curator of the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies, and are updated regularly.
"This FRONTLINE series is an intellectual and visual guide to the new and controversial historical evidence which challenges familiar assumptions about the life of Jesus and the epic rise of Christianity."
"GAMEO provides Reliable information on Anabaptist-related (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ) topics, including history, theology, biography, institutions and local congregations. Secular topics from an Anabaptist perspective and full-text source documents are also included."
"The Gnostic Society Library contains a vast collection of primary documents relating to the Gnostic tradition as well as a selection of in-depth audio lectures and brief archive notes designed to orient study of the documents, their sources, and the religious tradition they represent."
"This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free internet resources of use to researchers involved in the academic study of religion. Suggestions for improvement are welcomed. Please contact web site creators Saundra Lipton (University of Calgary Library) and Cheryl Adams (Library of Congress)"
"A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc."