*Religious Studies: African American Religious History

This website is created by Veterans of the Southern Freedom Movement (1951-1968). It is where the veterans tell it as it was, the way they lived it, saw it, and still see it.

The intentions of this guide, maintained at Cornell University, are to provide the researcher with helpful tips, and suggested print and electronic resources about women involved in the Civil Rights movement in the United States.

Miami University of Ohio's historical project consisting of documents, speeches, videos, newsletters, and photographs.

Completed in 2005, the Dirksen Congressional Center's project aims to provide a mapped out timeline of the Civil Rights Movement as it lead to the 1964 approval of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

"The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories, oral histories, and photographs collected by the "Voices of Civil Rights" project, a collaborative effort of AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR), and the Library of Congress, and marks the arrival of these materials in the Library's collection."

Voices of Freedom was produced to record oral histories of leaders of the Civil Rights movement in Virginia.

This web site is designed to provide convenient access to online presentations and resources concerning the subjects of African-American archaeology, history and cultures, and broader subjects of African diaspora archaeology and heritage.

A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture.

The inaugural exhibition of the National Museum of African American History and Culture was compiled of images selected from the collection of the National Portrait Gallery. The theme: African American resistance across 150 years of American history.

Public speech making has played a powerful role in the long struggle by African Americans for equal rights. This collection, for the ear and the eye, highlights speeches by an eclectic mix of black leaders. Their impassioned, eloquent words continue to affect the ideas of a nation and the direction of history.

Online Archival Collections Special Collections Library, Duke University.

America's journey through slavery is presented by PBS with supporting resources such as images, documents, stories, biographies, commentaries, and a Teacher's Guide for using the site and its correlating television series in US history courses.

A reference guide to African American history, with materials directed at everyone from scholars and researchers to the general public.

Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global Black experience through online materials at the Schomburg Center created and curated by our staff and librarians.

An examination of thirteen defining migrations that formed and transformed African America.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project has made the writings and spoken words of one of the twentieth century's most influential figures widely available through the publication of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr., a projected fourteen-volume edition of King's most historicaly significant speeches, sermons, correspondence, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts. The site contains a selection of featured and searchable documents for viewing by researchers.

Miami University of Ohio's historical project consisting of documents, speeches, videos, newsletters, and photographs.

"The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a research unit of The New York Public Library, is generally recognized as one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world. For over 80 years the Center has collected, preserved, and provided access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent."

From the UNC Libraries. "The Church in the Southern Black Community" collects autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials."

Started in 1975 as the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for Afro-American Research, the Institute has annually appointed scholars who conduct individual research for a period of one to two semesters in a wide variety of fields related to African and African American Studies. The Institute strives to ensure scholarly development of African and African American studies.