*Political Science: American Politics

A collection of historical documents at the National Archives.
NOTE that many federal datasets, websites, and other previously accessible resources are being taken offline to comply with executive orders. Additional information and potential access to archived federal data can be found in this guide.

The American Presidency Project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The archives contains 87,758 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

This website, created as a companion to C-SPAN's 20th Anniversary television series, provides an in-depth look at each of the presidents, their lives, families and administrations.

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC.

The Commonwealth Club of California is the nation's oldest and largest public affairs forum.
The mission of The Commonwealth Club of California is to be the leading national forum open to all for the impartial discussion of public issues important to the membership, community and nation.

Free service from Thomson Reuters (Westlaw). It has federal and state statutes, codes, court opinions, and regulations. It also has a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, Second (Am.Jur.2d).

Answers to everyday legal and business questions.

Collection of editorial cartoons updated daily and hosted by Slate Magazine.

Site maintained by Wake Forest University that contains collections of political speeches, audio sites, world famous orations, etc.

POLITICO is a news operation and information service specializing in politics and policy. Founded in 2007. Also operates POLITICO Europe. In October, 2021, POLITICO was acquired by, and is a subsidiary of, Axel Springer SE.

PolitiFact is a nonpartisan fact-checking website to sort out the truth in American politics. PolitiFact was created by the Tampa Bay Times, a Florida newspaper, in 2007. In 2018, PolitiFact was acquired by the Poynter Institute, a nonprofit school for journalists, as was PunditFact, a site devoted to fact-checking pundits.

PRRI is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization conducting independent research at the intersection of religion, culture, and politics.

Open access to law and code resources.

SCOTUSblog is devoted to covering the U.S. Supreme Court comprehensively. Founded in 2002.

The official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
NOTE that many federal datasets, websites, and other previously accessible resources are being taken offline to comply with executive orders. Additional information and potential access to archived federal data can be found in this guide.

NOTE that many federal datasets, websites, and other previously accessible resources are being taken offline to comply with executive orders. Additional information and potential access to archived federal data can be found in this guide.