Hoover Library: *Criminal Justice: Find Articles

Article Search

Databases and Journals

Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Use it to explore issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international levels.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window Trace the history of ongoing racial injustice in the United States - and the fights against it - through select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
Black Life in America (1976 - present) This link opens in a new window With coverage from 1976 to the present, this database will help you trace the experience and impact of African Americans, as recorded by the news media.
- This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window See entry for the New York Times for issues from 1851 to the present.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window Indigenous Peoples of North America is a primary source database documenting the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples of the United States and Canada. Documents indexed include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window This database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding LGBTQ+ issues, including scholarly and popular journals, books, magazines, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7. Includes content from 1851 to present. Access requires registration with your McDaniel Email address.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window With nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, this database is useful for researching the intersection of criminal justice issues with pyschology. Coverage dates back to the 1800s.
- This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window A database containing research on topics and issues pertaining to Social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Here you can search archived editions of the Washington Post. Coverage includes issues from 1877 - 2005.
- This link opens in a new window
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Search editions of the Washington Post from 1987 to the present. The link takes you to current (today's) news. To access past content, choose "Print Archives (Subscribers Only)" from the second column of the link menu at the very bottom of the page.