Hoover Library: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at Hoover: Research Resources

Research Collections

In addition to setting internal policies and procedures to incorporate the work necessary to provide the McDaniel community with an environment that welcomes and respects diversity, Hoover librarians strive to ensure that there are resources available for researchers which focus on and highlight the voices of diverse groups. This collection is constantly developing and changing to ensure that it is a living resource that will not stagnate as our approach to best practices in diversity, equity, and inclusion continues to develop. You will also find DEI-related resources within the subject-specific research guides maintained by the library.

The collection includes:

online databases and journals specifically targeted at diversity, equity, and inclusion
print and multimedia collections that highlight diverse voices and histories, for example:
- books on cultural diversity in the library catalog
- Diversity, Equity & Inclusion eBook collection (Gale/IGI Professional Series on DEI in mulitple disciplines, including education)
- Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook subcription (EBSCOhost)

(To access our full physical and multimedia collections, search the catalog or contact a librarian for help locating relevant resources.)

Research Resources

Key Diversity Databases [full database list here]

Key Journals - Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in Education: [search all journals here]

AERA Open

American Educational Research Journal

Chronicle of Higher Education

Education and Urban Society

Education, Citizenship and Social Justice

Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis

Educational Leadership

Educational Researcher

Equity and Excellence in Education

Improving Schools

Insight into Diversity

Journal of African American Males in Education

Journal of African American Studies

Journal of Diversity in Higher Education

Journal of Education

Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics

Journal of Hispanic Higher Education

Journal of Latinos and Education

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development

Journal of Negro Education

Journal of Teacher Education

Review of Educational Research

ACLU Publications
American Civil Liberties Union
African-American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920.
This digital collection illuminates specific moments in the history of Ohio's African-Americans and provides an overview of their experiences during the time period 1850 to 1920 in the words of the people that lived them. Sources include manuscript collections, newspaper articles, serials, photographs, and pamphlets.
African American Composers
[JHU Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music]
This music was generously donated to The Johns Hopkins University by Lester S. Levy over a period of years starting in 1976 and is now housed in the Special Collections Division of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library. The collection spans the years 1780 to 1980, but its strength is its thorough documentation of nineteenth-century America through popular music.
African American Sheet Music.
[Brown University Library Center for Digital Scholarship]
The African American Sheet Music Collection consists of music by and relating to African Americans, from the 1820s to the present day, and consists of approximately 6,000 items.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
[University of Washington]
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries.
Asian Classics Input Project
The Asian Classics Input Project is a not-for-profit 501(c)3 organization dedicated to the preservation of ancient Asian wisdom. ACIP conducts preservation projects in libraries, monasteries, and institutes throughout Asia.
Atlas of Impunity
[Eurasia Group/Chicago Council on Global Affairs]
The Atlas of Impunity is a quantitative assessment of the exercise of power without accountability, measured by independent indicators across five sites in society. These dimensions include unaccountable governance, human rights abuse, conflict and violence, economic exploitation, and environmental degradation. The Atlas scores and ranks the level of impunity in 163 countries and provides partial, indicative scoring for another 34.
Black Press Research Collective.
The Black Press Research Collective (BPRC) is an interdisciplinary group of scholars committed to generating digital scholarship about the historical and contemporary role of black newspapers in Africa and the African Diasporas
Center for Comparative Immigration Studies.
[Center for Comparative Immigration Studies, UCSD]
The Center for Comparative Immigration Studies (CCIS) at UCSD provides a unique institutional home for understanding the challenges and opportunities created by international migration to California, the United States as a whole, and other countries around the world.
Center for Hmong Studies.
[Concordia University-Saint Paul]
The Center for Hmong Studies is a resource for academic study of the Hmong ethnic group living in Laos, Thailand, Vietnam, China and the United States, Canada, France and Australia.
Center for Lao Studies
The Center for Lao Studies is a resource for scholarly research on Laos, Lao American history, and refugee experience.
Central American Journals Online
Central America Journals Online (CAMJOL) is a database of journals published in Nicaragua, Honduras and El Salvador, covering the full range of academic disciplines.
Chronicling America. (National Digital Newspaper Project.)
Chronicling America provides free access to millions of pages of historic American public domain newspapers. More than 3000 titles, published in 48 states and territories and the District of Columbia are available (eventual coverage will be all states and territories, 1690-1963). The headlines, articles and advertisements capture the life and times of the American people, shining new light on historic events as they unfolded. Also provides a link to find information about newspapers published in the United States from 1690. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress.
Densho.
Densho is a nonprofit organization started in 1996, with the mission to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II.
Discovering American Women's History Online
[Middle Tennessee State University]
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Documenting the American South: Primary Resources for the Study of Southern History, Literature, and Culture.
[University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill]
Provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.
East View Global Press Archive.
Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection.
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade.
[Michigan State University]
Every Learner Everywhere
Every Learner Everywhere is a network of twelve partner organizations with expertise in evaluating, implementing, scaling, and measuring the efficacy of education technologies, curriculum and course design strategies, teaching practices, and support services that personalize instruction for students in blended and online learning environments.
Exploring Race in Society
100 essays authored by writers from various fields, including academia, journalism, medicine, and other areas related to issues of race, focused on how past history has affected racial inequities that exist today.
Feminist Periodicals: A Current Listing of Contents.
[University of Wisconsin]
Open access repository of digitized tables of contents of 150 academic journals and pop culture magazines.
Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
Independent Voices.
Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century.
Indigenous Law Portal.
[Library of Congress]
The Indigenous Law Portal makes available digitized copies of North American Indian constitutions and other digitized primary and secondary legal materials from the Law Library of Congress collections, as well as links to tribal websites and primary source materials found on the Web.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) Publications.
The Southern Poverty Law Center is a nonprofit civil rights organization dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry, and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of society. Current priorities are: hate groups and extremists; immigrant justice; children at risk; teaching tolerance; and LBGT rights.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey project is a worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change. It has carried out representative national surveys of the basic values and beliefs of publics in more than 65 societies.

Local/Regional Archival Resources
These links to local/regional historical resources are maintained by the Hoover Library Archives.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion at Hoover: Research Resources

Research Collections

Research Resources

©Hoover Library

Library Hours: