Hoover Library: IACUC Resources: Core Databases & Resources

NOTE about Google Scholar:

Google Scholar should only be used to supplement your search.
Its coverage is incomplete and includes low-quality, non-peer-reviewed, and predatory sources. There are tools available to evaluate journal sources, such as:
- Cabanac, G. (2024). Chain retraction: how to stop bad science propagating through the literature.
  Nature 632, 977-979 doi: https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-024-02747-1
- Rele, S., Kennedy, M., & Blas, N. (2017). Journal evaluation tool. https://digitalcommons.lmu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1041&context=librarian_pubs
- Hijacked Journal Checker
  Make sure you are not submitting your paper to a hijacked journal site. From Anna Abalkina, Free University of Berlin. Related information: https://retractionwatch.com/the-retraction-watch-hijacked-journal-checker/ .
Its search interface lacks precision.
Its results are not replicable.
It is not acceptable as one of your research or alternatives databases for the IACUC

Core Resources

Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals , 8th Ed.
Public Health Service (PHS) Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals
NOTE that many federal datasets, websites, and other previously accessible resources are being taken offline to comply with executive orders. Additional information and potential access to archived federal data can be found in this guide.

Databases

BioOne
“BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.”
Environment Complete
Environment Complete “offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.”
MEDLINE
Particularly important for all small animal models. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, physiology, pre-clinical sciences, veterinary medicine and zoology.
The content in MEDLINE and PubMed is the same - they use different interfaces to search the same data.
PsycINFO
Necessary for all behavioral or neuropsychological protocols.
Agricola / PubAg
Covers 1996-. A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education.

NOTE
Many federal datasets, websites, and other previously accessible resources are being taken offline to comply with executive orders. Additional information and potential access to archived federal data can be found in this guide.
PubMed
Particularly important for all small animal models. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, physiology, pre-clinical sciences, veterinary medicine and zoology.
The PubMed Clinical Queries tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
The content in MEDLINE and PubMed is the same - they use different interfaces to search the same data. See also Europe PubMed Central - while most content there is mirrored from the US PMC, there is unique content.
ScienceDirect
An information source for scientific, technical, and medical research.

IACUC Resources

Core Resources

Databases

©Hoover Library

Library Hours: