IACUC Resources

Databases that contain materials specifically relevant to the reduction, refinement, and replacement of animals in laboratory research and teaching. Created and maintained by a variety of groups, including U.S. government agencies, universities in the U.S. and abroad, and private research institutes.

Also useful is the Retraction Watch website, which tracks reports on retractions of scientific papers, and tools for evaluating the credibility and validity of journal sources:

Rele, S., Kennedy, M., & Blas, N. (2017). Journal evaluation tool. https://digitalcommons.lmu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1041&context=librarian_pubs

• ALTBIB Resources for Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing. Assists in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. Contents are a subset of MEDLINE/PubMed records.
   
• @lt Web (Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health) 
  Clearinghouse for information on alternatives to animal testing.
   
• Animal Welfare Institute Enrichment and Refinement Databases

  Refinement of housing systems and handling practices and environmental enrichment for animals kept as laboratory animals. Covers species such as nonhuman primates, rodents, rabbits, cats, dogs, ferrets, farm animals, horses, fishes, amphibians and reptiles.

• CCAC 3R's Microsite (Canadian Council on Animal Care)

  Replacement, Reduction, and Refinement Alternatives

• DataBase on ALternative Methods (DB-ALM)

  Data set on advanced alternative methods in biomedical sciences.
  DB-ALM (formerly called the Scientific Information Service -SIS) is provided by the EURL ECVAM, an international center for coordinating the validation of alternative methods, providing advice on theoretical and practical aspects of the validation of new tests, and the current state of validation of alternative methods for use in toxicology and the biosciences in general.

• eMICE (National Cancer Institute)

  electronic Models Information, Communication, and Education

• Alternatives in Education Database (Humane Society Veterinary Medical Association)

  Alternatives to harming or killing nonhuman animals used in education. Use this database to search for all types of alternatives to the use animals in education, such as CDs, videos, computer simulations, models, and classroom activities for all ages.

• InterNICHE Alternatives Database.

  Alternatives in education products. 

• Model Organisms for Biomedical Research (National Institutes of Health)
   
• Norecopa (Norwegian Reference Centre for Laboratory Animal Science and Alternatives)

  Norway's National Consensus Platform for the advancement of "the 3 Rs" Provides a search feature that covers all of their resources, including the Norina (audiovisuals) database.

• TSAR: Tracking System for Alternative test methods Review, Validation and Approval in the Context of EU Regulations on Chemicals (European Commission. Joint Research Centre. Institute for Health and Consumer Protection)

  A tool to provide information on the status of alternative methods as they progress from scientific protocols to validation for being used in a regulatory context.

• UC Davis Guide to Bibliographic Databases for Alternatives Searching

  Lists databases by animal model and topic

• ZFIN: The Zebrafish Model Organism Database

  A database of online information for zebrafish researchers