Student Employment and Internships: Archives Student Worker
THIS POSITION IS CLOSED FOR FALL 2022.
Position: Archives Student Worker
Reports to: College Archivist & Special Collections Librarian - Gwen Coddington
Department: Hoover Library
Scope: Assist College Archivist & Special Collections Librarian with the arrangement, care, description, and display of archival materials
Assist in a survey of archival collections, including crosschecking existing finding aids and repositories for accuracy, assessing collections’ preservation needs, and determining further description and arrangement activities
Operate Zeutschel overhead book scanner to digitize various archival materials, including but not limited to college publications, photographs, and newspapers
Assist in assembling archival exhibits, including creating exhibit labels and handling and display of materials
Under the supervision of the College Archivist, process archival collections, arrange materials, and create finding aids
Help with archive events, activities, and tours as needed
Complete other duties as assigned by the Archivist & Special Collections Librarian
4-8 hours a week, Monday-Friday, must have availability between 8:30 AM-3:30 PM.
Current sophomore, junior, or senior student at McDaniel (a few exceptions may be made for first-year students)
Able to engage in a repetitive task requiring extensive use of hands (e.g. cutting, folding, and other miscellaneous tasks requiring dexterity),
Strong organizational skills and attention to detail
Able to closely follow multi-step workflows
Comfortable learning new software applications
Excellent written and oral communication skills
Comfortable working around dust and dirt
Discretion and reliability in handling sensitive and confidential information
History/Art History, Art, or English Major or Minor
Strong interest in archives, museum studies, or other cultural heritage institutions
Familiarity with archival principals and proper handling/storage of historic materials
Demonstrated experience in historical research
Background in art and craft skills preferred
This position requires sitting or standing for long periods of time, as well as some bending and stooping.
This position does have some limited lifting involved but not more than 15-25 pounds at a time.
Quite a bit of finger/hand dexterity and steadiness is involved handling archival materials. The ability to use a keyboard and mouse is required. The overall setting of the job is in an area conducive to a normal office environment with minimal exposure to adverse conditions.